Tech's Hoffman named College Soccer 360 Primetime Performer

Tech's Hoffman named College Soccer 360 Primetime Performer

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. - After recording the first postseason hat trick in Tennessee Tech soccer history, junior Jen Hoffman was named to College Soccer 360's Primetime Performer of the Week team.

After the Golden Eagles fell behind 2-0, Hoffman scored all three of Tech's goals as the Golden Eagles topped Eastern Illinois 3-2 in double-overtime in the first-round of the OVC tournament on Nov. 5, helping Tech to its first OVC championship game since 2000. Hoffman was the only player from the Ohio Valley Conference to earn honors on the 22-person team after finishing the week with six points.

"Jen had a wonderful season this year and she really took it to another level this past weekend," Tech head coach Becky Fletcher said. "We were placed in a tough situation in the first game, being down 2-0 in the 2nd half.  Not only did she score, but she upped the intensity for the entire team and inspired them."

The honor isn't the first for Hoffman this season as she earned one OVC Offensive player of the Week award, and was named the OVC's Offensive Player of the Year and was a first-team all-OVC selection. Hoffman led the league in goals in conference regular season games with four, and finished the year with nine total goals, one assist and 19 points.

Hoffman was a second-team all-OVC selection, and a member of the OVC all-newcomer team after her freshman year in 2006 when she scored six goals and added one assist. She left TTU in 2007, and returned in 2008, when she had to sit out a year due to NCAA transfer rules.

Hoffman's hat trick was the first of her career and made her only the third Golden Eagle in history to accomplish the feat. Tania Desmarais did it against Morehead State on Oct. 6, 2001, and Jill Burns had four in here career at Tech, including one against Morehead State.

Primetime Performers of the Week #11 (for week of Nov. 2-8)
Arizona State - Alexandra Elston
Boise State - Erica Parks
Boston College - Jillian Mastroianni
Colgate - Monica Jensen
Davidson - Amanda Flink
Dayton - Jerica DeWolfe
High Point - Marisa Abbott and Laura Shupe
LSU - Mo Isom
Memphis - Ashley Berra and Vendula Strnadova
Michigan State - Lauren Hill
Milwaukee - Sarah Hagen
Monmouth - Mary Wilks
North Carolina - Whitney Engen and Casey Nogueira
UNC Wilmington - Erica Pardini
Oklahoma State - Colleen Dougherty and Annika Niemier
Purdue - Sylvia Forbes
Sam Houston State - Shelby Grissett
San Diego State - Cat Walker
South Carolina - Kayla Grimsley and Blakely Mattern
Southeast Louisiana - Lacey Bockhaus
Stanford - Kelley O'Hara
Tennessee Tech - Jen Hoffman