Tech women's basketball announces team award recipients

Tech women's basketball announces team award recipients

By Layne Weitzel, TTU Sports Information

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. – At the team's annual banquet on Tuesday night, Tennessee Tech women's basketball announced its team award winners for the 2017-18 season.

The awards, whose recipients are chosen by the Tech coaching staff and team members, span several areas of the women's basketball program, including on-the-court performance, academics and service to the team and community.

Most Outstanding Scholar-Athlete – Abby Buckner & Megan Clark

Buckner and Clark each earned spots on the Tennessee Tech Athletic Director's Honor Roll for the fall 2017 semester. They both completed their first semesters of college with perfect 4.0 GPAs. Buckner is majoring in General Health Studies – General Pre-Occupational Therapy, and Clark is majoring in Exercise Science, Physical Education and Wellness – Fitness and Wellness.

Ed and Wanda Jared Family Award – Anacia Wilkinson

The Ed and Wanda Jared Family Award recipient is chosen by the Tech student-athletes and is awarded to a student-athlete entering her senior year of college. The recipient also exemplifies leadership in all aspects of her life and serves as a role model to her younger teammates.

John P. Hendrix Leadership Award – Asia Harper

The John P. Hendrix Leadership Award is given to a team member who exemplifies outstanding leadership both on and off the floor.

Frank Porter Award – Yaktavia "Shug" Hickson

The Frank Porter Award honors a student-athlete (chosen by her teammates) for her contributions to the team, program and Cookeville community.

Most Outstanding Player – Yaktavia "Shug" Hickson

MacKenzie Coleman was also again recognized for her OVC All-Newcomer team honor, which was announced following the season's end back in February.

Photo by Thomas Corhern, TTU Sports Information