Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tennessee Tech Golden Eagles

Carlisle named finalist for STATS FCS Doris Robinson Award

Carlisle named finalist for STATS FCS Doris Robinson Award

Tennessee Tech linebacker Seth Carlisle was named as one of 15 finalists for the Doris Robinson Award, named after the late school teacher and wife of legendary Grambling State coach Eddie Robinson, and presented to a student-athlete who excels both in the classroom and the community.

Carlisle is in his fourth season with the Tennessee Tech football team where he has played linebacker and served as a team captain. He finished this year with 67 tackles and an interception after having 50 tackles and earning the team's Robert Hill Johnson Award as team MVP during the spring season. The year prior (2019), he ranked second on the Golden Eagles' squad with 88 stops. In the classroom, he was a 3.61 grade point average in biology health sciences (pre-dentistry) and earned multiple OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll selections and was named one of six OVC Scholar-Athlete Award winners this Fall.

He has also been named to the TTU AD's Honor Roll and Dean's List and been the recipient of the Headrick Pre-Heath Sciences Scholarship, the Jerry D. Cantrell Endowment Scholarship and the Golden Opportunity Scholarship. Carlisle is a member of the NCAA Division I Football Oversight Committee Student-Athlete Connection Group, the TTU and OVC Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC), the Chem-Med Club and the Tennessee Tech Football Leadership Group. He has volunteered at various elementary schools, food pantries, charities and youth clinics.

Southern Illinois' ZeVeyon Furcron was announced as the winner. Now in its seventh year, the Doris Robinson Award will be presented at the FCS National Awards Banquet on January 7 in Frisco, Texas. The OVC has previously had two winners of the award (2015 - Dalton Screws and 2016 Tyler Swafford). Former Tennessee Tech linebacker Josh Poplar was also named a finalist after the 2018 campaign.

Stats Perform also will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year) and Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year), with a broadcast of the festivities to begin airing the next day on Bally Sports Regional Networks.

2021 Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award Finalists
Troy Andersen, Montana State, LB, Sr. (Big Sky) – Degree in Agricultural Business, 3.91
Bennett Dondoyano, San Diego, WR, R-Sr. (Pioneer) – Finance and Marketing, 3.82
Seth Carlisle, Tennessee Tech, LB, Jr. (Ohio Valley) – Biology Health Sciences (pre-dentistry), 3.61
Davis Cheek, Elon, QB, Sr. (CAA) –Degree in Strategic Communications, 3.51; pursuing MBA
McClendon Curtis, Chattanooga, OL, R-Jr. (Southern) – Degree in Sports Management, 3.30; pursuing Master's in Teacher Leadership
Jake Dixon, Duquesne, OL, Grad (Northeast) – Master's in Accounting, 4.0
ZeVeyon Furcron, Southern Illinois, OL, Sr. (Missouri Valley) – Master of Science in Education, 3.88
Maurio Goings, Delaware State, LB, R-Fr. (Mid-Eastern Athletic) – Biological Sciences with Chemistry minor, 3.77
Ezra Gray, Alabama State, RB, R-Sr. (Southwestern Athletic) – Degree in Computer Information Systems, 4.0
Gavin Landry, Northwestern State, WR, R-Sr. (Southland) – Degree in Business Administration, 3.94
Parker McKinney, Eastern Kentucky, QB, R-So. (ASUN) – Public Health, 3.42 GPA
Peter Oliver, Holy Cross, RB, Sr. (Patriot) – Chemistry and Spanish double major, 3.95
Caleb O'Neal, Kennesaw State, WR, Grad (Big South) – Biology, 3.43
Deven Osborne, Dixie State, WR, Sr. (Western Athletic) – Degree in Business Administration, 3.31
Spencer Rolland, Harvard, OL, Sr. (Ivy) – Mechanical Engineering, 3.85

File photo | James Boofer, WVLT

© Tennessee Tech Athletics

1100 McGee Blvd. // TTU Box 5057 // Cookeville, TN 38505

Privacy Policy