Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tennessee Tech Golden Eagles

Kilpatrick named semifinalist for National Football Foundation's William V. Campbell Trophy

Kilpatrick named semifinalist for National Football Foundation's William V. Campbell Trophy

COOKEVILLE, Tenn. -- An excellent student-athlete and a leader on the field, tight end Tavin Kilpatrick has been an epitome of what it means to be a student-athlete. His efforts were rewarded with a nod from the National Football Foundation on Wednesday as he was named a semifinalist for the 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy.

Kilpatrick was one of two selections from the Ohio Valley Conference, joining Austin Peay linebacker Jack McDonald, and among 36 selections on the Football Championship Subdivision level. Overall, there were 176 selections across all levels of college football.

Kilpatrick received his degree in mechanical engineering in May 2021 and is currently working on a master's in business administration. He missed the spring 2021 season with an injury.
The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 27, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas for the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 7, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 32nd Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.
Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Launched in 1959, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards Presented by Fidelity Investments celebrate their 63rd year in 2021. The awards were the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments, and the NFF has recognized 878 outstanding individuals since the program's inception. This year's postgraduate scholarships will push the program's all-time distribution to more than $12.1 million.
The Campbell Trophy® was first awarded in 1990, adding to the program's prestige. Past recipients include two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and seven first-round NFL draft picks. Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, the trophy has been prominently displayed inside its official home at the New York Athletic Club since 2013, and the winner is honored each year during a special luncheon at the venue.

© Tennessee Tech Athletics

1100 McGee Blvd. // TTU Box 5057 // Cookeville, TN 38505

Privacy Policy