Five chosen for induction Oct. 30 into Tech Sports Hall of Fame

Five chosen for induction Oct. 30 into Tech Sports Hall of Fame

COOKVELLE, Tenn. -- It will be a banner day for the Golden Eagle football program and a first for the women's track and cross country programs when Tennessee Tech Athletics inducts five new members into the TTU Sports Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 30, during Homecoming festivities.

Four of the five -- Jim Bishop, John Moorhead, Tony Stone and Branon Vaughn -- played football for the Golden Eagles, while Dena Adams Fairley becomes the first member of the women's track and cross country program to be inducted.

The five will be honored during the annual Hall of Fame Dinner on Friday night, Oct. 30, and also recognized at the Homecoming football game on Saturday, Oct. 31. They will lift the total of people in the Hall of Fame to 146 since it was established in 1975.

* Dena Adams was one of the school's most honored student-athletes during her career as a distance runner for the Golden Eagles from 1994 to 1997, winning Academic All-America and all-OVC honors while setting school records.

* Jim Bishop was a team captain and all-conference selection on the football team from 1968 to 1971, and also played one season on the Tech baseball team, before the NFL draft sent him toward a brief pro football career with the San Diego Chargers, Kansas City Chiefs and Houston Oilers.

* John Moorhead was a four-year letterman in both football and track & field for the Golden Eagles from 1955 to 1959. He set school and conference records on the track in the high jump and mile relay, and was a two-time all-OVC selection in football.

* Tony Stone was also on the Golden Eagle football team during the second half of the 1950s, helping win an Ohio Valley Conference championships, but his greatest contributions to the program began eight years after his graduation when he returned to his alma mater as an assistant coach  and headed up Tech's dominant defensive secondary from 1967 to 1973.

* Branon Vaughn was an OVC Defensive Player of the Year during his record-setting career as a defensive end from 1995 to 1999. A three-time all-OVC pick, he set several school records for quarterback sacks and was a national finalist for the prestigious Buck Buchanan Award.

In-depth biographies of each of the five inductees will be published as the Hall of Fame Dinner approaches. Tickets for the Hall of Fame dinner will go on sale soon at the Athletics Ticket Office in Eblen Center.